Dollhouse

Given Joss Whedon’s general bad luck, and the fact that FOX crapped all over Firefly (which, at the risk of invoking the ire of Star Trek and Battlestar Galactica partisans, I’m going to call the best television space opera ever), I’m inclined to say that Dollhouse will make a fantastic ten or twelve episodes before the network unceremoniously cans it in favor of a new reality show called Are You Smarter Than America’s Next Top Biggest Loser.

I mean, it could last for maybe a whole season, but I’m not getting my hopes up. If what Steve Benen says is true (what is it about lefty political blogs and Whedon fanboydom?), then FOX is already getting ready to cancel it and then make a killing on DVD sales when it becomes a cult classic.

But the house that Rupert Murdoch built, shitty as it is, doesn’t share all the blame here. I think Whedon, as usual, has come up with a brilliant premise, but I’m not sure if it’s a premise that could sustain itself for 5-7 years. I mean, how long can he keep wiping his protagonist’s memory over and over again before forward momentum necessitates her becoming conscious? And after that happens, what does the new focus of the show become? I feel like for a television show to last, the source of tension needs to be a little bit more open-ended.

Either way though, it’s great to see Whedon on television again, if only for a couple months.

6 Responses

  1. I am one of those Star Trek and Battlestar Galactica nerds.

    And you disgust me.

  2. To be clear, I still think Battlestar Galactica is fantastic. As for Star Trek … eh.

    Does this mean I need to turn in my Justice League badge?

  3. Agreed on your evaluations of all three sci-fi shows. Not agreed on the unsustainability of the Dollhouse premise, or rather, not agreed that the premise can’t evolve. I understand that when Whedon made the pitch for the show to Fox, he had two or three seasons roughly mapped out. I assume the new focus would include, among other things, the various frought relationships between the core cast, always a high point of any of his shows.

    But, like you, not getting my hopes up.

  4. I’m a Star Trek fan and a BSG fan and I still think that Firefly certainly outdid them both. Sure it’s a quiet little show, lost amongst the rest of the clamoring scifi stuff, but it’s a definite gem.

    I’m worried for DollHouse too, but intend to enjoy whatever we get of it.

    Oh, I do think that Whedon fanboy/girl goes with lefty.
    Long time lefty, poli interested individual and long time ( read scifi books when I was 8!) scifi lover. Whedon tops them all when he gets to shine.

  5. […] a political commentary blog with a dash of pop culture crit. But given that yesterday’s Dollhouse post is not only the top post of both today and yesterday, but also already the third most popular […]

  6. Actually, to be fair to to our righty brethren, a number of conservative political bloggers we’re also fans of “Firefly” (not as sure about “Buffy.”) I can’t name names right now, but I actually think there’s something about Whedon shows that attracts politically oriented people, both left and right.

    In fact, though Whedon himself is a very outspoken liberal, his right hand on “Firefly”, Tim Minear, is (at least the last time I heard) a well-known conservative.

Leave a Reply

