Arra of the Third Kingdom

If you’ve been on the Internet in the past month or so, you’ve probably already seen this video:

The first time I saw it, I was hypnotized. I still can’t make up my mind whether it’s good or terrible, but that’s probably just because neither of those words apply–this is just beyond. It’s the most captivating hybrid of trashy 90’s dance-pop and old Dungeons & Dragons tropes the world has ever seen. So, questions of taste and quality aside, there’s no disputing that it exists on some heightened plane of kickass.

And, via Olde English, it apparently has a plot.

I’ll let the Dread Pirate Eragon himself, Chris Dane Owens, explain:

My character is part of the witches kingdom, which is the second kingdom. I’m actually part of their army and an enforcer, a general, if you will. I meet that young lady Arra who is secretly being trained by the angels and they hand her a book. That book is the book of golden symbols which can only be understood by the spirit, by the living soul. She’s being trained secretly to be the queen of this realm, to overthrow the forces of darkness. My character actually meets her and falls in love with her and decides to leave the dark side, so he has an epiphany.

I. Um. Yeah.

It gets better though; you see, Owens envisions this as a multimedia saga.

My intention is to develop a manga [comic book] for this story and these characters, for which I call “Arra of the Third Kingdom.” My hope is to tell the story in two more installments, to take these characters on more of a journey, with different songs from the album, and maybe in the second or third video, do something like Michael Jackson did where he sets everything up in a 5-, 10-minute movie before the video begins. There may be a 5-minute prologue so people understand more where the story is coming from.

Let me be the first to say, without a trace of irony: That is shit-dickin’ awesome. For reals.

But when will we get to see the prequels that spell out what happened to the first and second kingdoms? INQUIRING MINDS WANT TO KNOW.

4 Responses

  1. I showed this to my girlfriend a while back, and we both realized that we know someone who would enjoy this without a trace of irony or sarcasm. And then we were sad.

  2. “My character is part of the witches kingdom, which is the second kingdom. I’m actually part of their army and an enforcer, a general, if you will. I meet that young lady Arra who is secretly being trained by the angels and they hand her a book. That book is the book of golden symbols which can only be understood by the spirit, by the living soul. She’s being trained secretly to be the queen of this realm, to overthrow the forces of darkness. My character actually meets her and falls in love with her and decides to leave the dark side, so he has an epiphany.”

    Oh, naturally. Who honestly didn’t get that from watching the video?

    My only question is, What kingdom is the random crocodile at 2:44 in?

  3. we have developed a drinking game around this video.

    we show someone new the video. any time someone says aloud, or with the obvious facial expression, “wtf…?!” everyone has to drink.

    lightweights with mixed drinks are plastered after two watchings. mostly from the

  4. Ok, I have to tell you that a) I watched this video for the 1st time last night and said to a friend, “I need to know the story behind this crazy ass video and if the anemic vampire ever fights that crocodile and holy shitballs! ANGELS!!!” and b) I own a comic book store!

    If this comic book/graphic novel/manga/series of Middle Earth themed subway graffiti ever sees the light of day, I shall throw the biggest party since Aragorn made it to 8th level and got to go to Ranger High School!

    There is no room for hate when this much crazy meets this much amazing! We should all watch it again…IN CHURCH! Lets go to work Mr. Owens, with your visionary ass! Stonehenge, Bitches!

Leave a Reply

