The First Millenniposterversary

This blog has cycled through a lot of domains–I think the first one was on blogspot, a few weeks after the end of the Lamont campaign. Those intervening weeks were not good weeks for me. I was depressed and angry about the outcome of that election, and with no campaign to throw myself into, I was pretty restless. Blogging ended up being a lot more therapeutic than it was productive, especially since nobody was reading it except for my parents.

I closed that blog down shortly after I went to intern at TPM. And then when I re-opened it a couple weeks before my semester-long internship ended, I gave it its own domain, figuring I knew enough about blogging now that I could make a little money on ad revenue. Obviously, that didn’t work out, but I was starting to improve nonetheless, and my blogging over there earned me that DFA scholarship to Netroots Nation.

Not too long after Netroots Nation, I opened this domain up. Then, a month later, I temporarily shut it down to focus on editing NYU Local. Then I opened it up again once I realized that I was headed to London and wouldn’t be able to stay on as a full-time editor.

Throughout all of this domain-switching, I’ve diligently imported all of the posts from one blog to the other. And so, a little over two years after that first domain, I’m left with exactly 1,000 posts in the archives (counting this one). I’m still not Atrios, by any stretch of the imagination, but I’ve managed to build up a little bit of a dedicated readership, and blogging here has opened up some doors for me that I would never have had access to otherwise. Most importantly, I feel like this has been, and will continue to be, a real learning experience. Not only has making myself write on a daily basis sharpened my writing skills, it’s also forced me to become more and educated and engaged with the issues I care about.

Part of me wants to look back at all of those posts, shake my head ruefully, and think about all of the things I could have been doing instead of writing those. But honestly, I don’t regret a minute of it. Sure, individual posts in the archives are pretty embarrassing, and I don’t stand by everything I’ve written; but writing is who I am, and any time I spend writing something I honestly believe, no matter how silly or poorly reasoned, is an investment in self-improvement.

So thanks for sticking with me for the first 1,000, and here’s to 1,000 more.

One Response

  1. Speaking as one of your two original readers, I can attest to the growth I have seen in your writing. And I am grateful for all the information, insight and loud guffaws the first 1,000 posts have brought me. I look forward to the upcoming posts, and the continuing evolution of your style — here, and in an expanding media with an expanding readership.

Leave a Reply

