Talking and Listening

This has got to be one of the greatest TED Talks I’ve ever seen:

The best of those talks are the ones that actually influence your behavior or change the way you look at the world, and I think this one was one of the former–and may yet be one of the latter as well.

See, I talk a lot. Well, sort of. When I’m nervous (which I am pretty frequently in unfamiliar social settings), I barely talk at all. But when I get an idea into my head, or you send me off on a topic I’m enthusiastic about, it gets hard to shut me up. This happens a lot with American politics–that’s why I have this blog.

But the less I talk, in general, the more I’m in the moment. I’m not stressing over something in the past or the future, and I notice things more. I know what Francis is talking about when he says that you learn more by keeping silent, but I’ve never committed myself to just not speaking for a set amount of time. Watching this talk makes me want to give it a shot. I mean, if this guy did it for seventeen years, I should be able to manage one day, right?

I think I’m going to give this a shot tomorrow. If I do, I’ll report back with results.

One Response

  1. […] Something I didn’t really consider about the not talking experiment is that John Francis started not talking while living in a fairly isolated part of California. In […]

Leave a Reply

