New NYU Local Post: We’re All Screwed

My new post has been getting a lot of hits and comments, but right now I’m halfway ready to declare it a failure. The problem, I think, is that I didn’t make my point anywhere near clear enough; most of the response has focused on the assertion that most of us won’t have the careers we’ve been conditioned to expect, but that’s only the premise, not the argument.

The bigger threat, I think, isn’t external economic forces, but our internal responses. Once we’ve accepted that our ascent up the socioeconomic ladder has been severely impeded, that’s when it comes time to seriously examine what we want and care about in the first place. If it’s just personal gratification, we will always be deeply, deeply unhappy.

One Response

  1. I’m a little afraid to read this post.

Leave a Reply

