Who is your favorite philosopher? Why? (Are favorites even allowed?)

Oof, that’s a tough one—especially because my answer’s probably going to change radically as I read more philosophy and dig deeper into some of the questions raised on this blog. But for now, I will say that Plato’s Republic, and especially that argument with Thrasymachus, was the first philosophical text that took root in my brain in a serious way.

As for which philosophical work best reflects my own ethical and metaethical views, I’m with Freddie; I absolutely adore the first half of Simone de Beauvoir’s The Ethics of Ambiguity. Eventually I plan to write a lot about Beauvoir’s ethical system, but I want to lay more of the groundwork first.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

