Expanding My Focus

I know I keep saying this, but I’m pleased and more than a little flummoxed by the continual expansion of this blog’s readership. Right now I’m at 241 followers, which, needless to say, comes as a happy surprise. It’s gratifying to see this many people are so interested in philosophy.

That being said, I’m starting to miss straight political and cultural blogging a lot. And as I hunt for a job (I finished my undergraduate coursework yesterday) in either journalism or political advocacy, it’s something I probably should be doing for career reasons. So I’m thinking seriously about expanding the blog’s mission again: changing the name from Philoblog to my own name, tinkering with the template, and doing a little bit more general interest blogging.

To be clear, I have no intention of pulling a full Yglesias here: my background is in academic philosophy, and it will remain a major part of what I do here no matter what. Similarly, I intend to find a way for philosophy to inform and contribute to whatever I choose to cover whenever possible. That fact that it can do so is, after all, the primary argument I was trying to advance when I created this blog.

Nothing’s final here, so if you’ve got strong objections feel free to voice them in the comments. And while I’ll understand if this isn’t the case, I hope my writing here has generated enough good faith for the possible move to not result in any unfollows, at least until we try out the new format for a time.

UPDATE: To clarify, when I say that my “background is in academic philosophy,” I mean that my admittedly slim academic background is in philosophy, not politics or journalism.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

