Matters of Utmost Seriousness

All the legitimate bloggers these days have end-of-the-day link roundups. And as it so happens, feigning legitimacy is one of my hobbies, which is why I’m starting a new semi-regular feature: MATTERS OF UTMOST SERIOUSNESS. I say “semi-regular” because I don’t have the time or inclination to post link roundups each day, much less assemble enough links on a daily basis to make for a decent roundup.

I do, however, have things I want to highlight but don’t feel I can construct a full post around. Here are some of the recent ones:

  • Julian Sanchez takes the question of whether or not a god could prove its omnipotence quite a bit further than I did. I stopped at what it would be like to experience omnipotence because it seemed inconceivable to me; but that’s sort of handwave-y, and Julian does a good job of puzzling through the concept of omnipotence. Also, the comments thread is glorious.
  • Philosopher Neil Sinhababu, who I interviewed for my column on personhood, thinks cognitive neuroscience has a solution to the philosophical zombie problem.
  • Massimo Piglucci on the limits of reasonable discourse.
  • Columbia University Press is going to publish David Foster Wallace’s undergraduate thesis, in which the future novelist tried to rebutt fatalism. The New York Times Magazine had an article about the thesis awhile back.
  • Via Leiter, a blog about what it’s like to be a woman in academic philosophy.
  • Also via Leiter: an excellent essay on the nature of political conservatism.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

